Kiplimo, Cheptegei USPA’s Best

Spread the love

Views: 0

The Uganda Sports Press Association continued to set the bar high in organising the Nile Special USPA Sports Personality of the Year awards.Besides being glamorous the awards were attended by different dignitaries who continued to keep the awards as the best and top organised social gathering in the East African region.

Long-distance runners Joshua Cheptegei and Jacob Kiplimo took centre stage at the Nile Special Uganda Sports Press Association (USPA).

The awards held at Imperial Royale hotel on Saturday, September 23, 2023, were graced by guests including; National Council of Sports Chairman Ambrose Tashobya, USPA founder Fredrick Sekitto, FUFA president Hon. Eng: Moses Magogo, Uganda Olympic committee chairman Dr. Donald Rukare and Uganda Netball Federation acting president Brig. Flavia Byekwaso.

Politicians including Kampala Central Division Mayor Salim Uhuru and Member of Parliament Bugiri Municipality Asuman Basalirwa, Budiope Moses Magogo attended the must-attend awards.

A unique award of two-in-one celebrations recognized the outstanding athletes for the years 2021 and 2022.

The top honours of the evening went to Cheptegei and Kiplimo, who were named the USPA Sports Personalities for the Years 2021 and 2022, respectively.

In winning the 2021 award, Cheptegei bagged his third consecutive title following the ones in 2018 and 2019. He was esteemed because of winning gold and silver medals in the 5,000- and 10,000-meter events at the 2020 Tokyo Olympics.

The Uganda legend clocked an impressive 12:58.15 to win gold and 27:43.63 to secure silver in the 10,000m.In addition to his Sports Personality award for 2021, Cheptegei was named the Men’s Athlete of the Year, while Peruth Chemutai earned the honour in the Women’s category.

Jacob Kiplimo, on the other hand, earned the 2022 Sports Personality of the Year award for the first time.In the previous year, Kiplimo claimed gold medals in both the 5,000 and 10,000-meter races at the Commonwealth Games in Birmingham, United Kingdom.

He achieved a remarkable time of 13:08.08 and 27:09.19 in the 5,000m and 10,000m events, respectively, to secure gold in both races.

This success followed his bronze medal win in the 10,000 meters (27:27.97) at the World Championships in Eugene, Oregon, United States. Kiplimo also secured the Men’s Athlete of the Year award for 2022, while Prisca Chesang was honoured in the Women’s category.

Several other individuals and teams received awards, including Mary Nuba (Netball, 2021), Dinesh Nakrani (Cricket, 2021), Express FC (Football, 2021), and many more.

The 2022 winners included Phillip Wokorach (Rugby Men), Charlotte Mudoola (Women), Milton Karisa (Football, Men), Tonny Drileba (Basketball, Men), Rose Akon (Basketball, Women), and Joan Nampungu (Netball), among others.

Source:USPA Media

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top
Skip to content