Uganda Martyrs Win 2022/23 FUFA Women’s Cup

Spread the love

Uganda Martyrs Lubaga Women Football Club are the winners of the 2022/23 FUFA Women’s Cup. The Kiddawalime Girls defeated She Maroons in the final on Saturday at Bishop Maraka College Playground in Kumi district.

The Lubaga based side etched their names in the books of history by clinching the fourth edition.

FUFA second Vice President Darius Mugoye was the Chief guest at the final. He was in the company of FUFA CEO Edgar Watson and FUFA Executive Committee members Rogers Mulindwa and Agnes Mugena.

In a closely contested game, captain Catherine Nagadya scored the only goal of the game that led Uganda Martyrs to glory.

This is the first ever title for Uganda Martyrs Lubaga who have been in existence since 2006.

The final was indeed befitting given the performance from either side. However, it was Uganda Martyrs that got the better chances.

Shamusa Najjuma and Nagadya should have given Uganda Martyrs the lead in the opening twenty minutes but they both missed on different intervals.

At one time, the Lubaga based outfit was the woodwork thrice in quick succession.

The second half saw the heavens open up and it was Uganda Martyrs that lasted the distance.

The decisive moment came in the 78th minute when Nagadya found the breakthrough and this eventually turned out to be the decisive moment of the game.

Uganda Martyrs become the fourth team to win the FUFA Women’s Cup following Olila High School (2017), UCU Lady Cardinals (2018) and Makerere University WFC (2019).

It should be noted that the 2020, 2021 and 2022 editions were not held due to the outbreak of COVID-19.

Individual Accolades

Top Scorer – Anita Babirye (She Maroons) – 3 Goals

Most Valuable Player – Catherine Nagadya (Uganda Martyrs Lubaga WFC)

Best Goalkeeper – Sharon Norah Kaidu (Uganda Martyrs Lubaga WFC)

Fair Play Award – She Maroons FC

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top