AFCON U20 Zonal Qualifiers: Uganda Hippos Final Travelling Squad To Sudan Named

Spread the love

Views: 0

Uganda Hippos (U20) interim head coach Jackson Mayanja has revealed his final 24 man squad travelling to Sudan ahead of the CECAFA AFCON U20 Zonal Qualifiers from 28th October to 11th November 2022.


Image 1. Head Coach Jackson Mayanja (L) with the Manager Bashir Mutyaba. 

Image 2. Soltilo Bright Stars FC left back Simon Ssemayange made the final squad. 

Image 3. Uganda Hippos players at Entebbe International Airport before flying out to Sudan.

The team will be captained by Isma Mugulusi.

Only three players who were part of the 2021 Hippos squad that reached the AFCON U20 finals in Mauritania have made the trip and these are Isma Mugulusi, Wabyoona Faisal and goalie Ssenyondwa Denis.

The team flew out of the country on Wednesday morning abroad Ethiopian Airlines.

Uganda is pitted in group B along Tanzania and Ethiopia.

They will open defence of their title on Saturday 29th October against Tanzania at Al Hilal Stadium.

They will then rest for six days before playing their second tie against Ethiopia on 5th November at Al Hilal Stadium.

The leader from group A will face the runners up from group B and vice versa.

The Hippos have spent 13 days in residential camp at the Cranes Paradise hotel, Kisaasi.

The full squad.


Abdu Magada-Gaddafi FC,

Kamya Shamulan-Bright Stars FC,

Ssenyondwa Denis Kaala- URA FC


Opiru Justine-URA FC,   Ibrahim Juma- FC Leganes, Samson Kasozi-UPDF FC, Ronald Madoi- Wakiso Giants FC

Mukisa Simon- UPDF FC, Ssemayange Simon Kato-Bright Stars FC

Lukwago Haruna -KCCA FC, Rogers Torach- Vipers SC


Allan Kiggundu- BUL FC

Katongole Frank-St Mary’s Kitende

Mugulusi Isma- Makedonikos FC, Greece

Nyanzi Marvin- Wakiso Giants FC

Wabyoona Faisal- KCCA FC,

Thomas Kakaire- Mbarara City FC

Bugembe Issa- Bright Stars, Titus Ssematimba- Wakiso Giants FC


Umar Lutalo- SC Villa

Muhammad Nsereko- SC Villa

Kasinde Ibrahim- Bright Stars FC

Kyeyune Abbas- UPDF FC

Mugisha Rogers-UPDF FC

Team Officials:

Hamid Juma (Leader of Delegation)

Mayanja Jackson (Head Coach)

Simeon Masaba (Assistant coach)

Kiberu Mubarak-Goalkeeping coach

Mutyaba Bashir-Team manager

Gumisiriza Michael-Team Doctor

Ronald Lusulire-Team Media Officer

Bumpemje Frank- Kitsman

Oryem Jolly Joe Innocent- Delegate (Northern Region FA)

Justine Nambafu Delegate- National Women Football Leagues (FWEL)

Source:FUFA Media

Scroll to Top
Skip to content