Monday, August 15, 2022
spot_img
HomeAfricaJoin Team Qhubeka and #QlikinforQhubeka

Join Team Qhubeka and #QlikinforQhubeka

192 Views

JOHANNESBURG, South Africa, 24 June 2022 – On behalf of Team Qhubeka, International Cycling Executives (ICE) and Qlik, you are invited to join us for a special Zwift ride to raise funds for the Qhubeka Charity, and in doing so continue to change lives with bicycles.

Join Olympian & cycling commentator Kate Bates and the ICE community for a 60 minute ride through Zwift and with four events across four time zones, giving everyone the chance to participate.

This is an immersive experience while riding in Zwift with a Zoom call where Kate will chat to Douglas Ryder, founder of Team Qhubeka, as well as hearing from Chris Powell and Steven Birdsall from Qlik. We’ll get a ‘behind the curtains’ view into professional cycling and the incredible power of data for good!

For every km we ride in the event, Qlik will donate $1, as well as matching any donations you make $ for $. Your donation is a bonus, and optional… so let’s use our pedal power to change the world one bicycle at a time!

Nicholas Dlamini will be joining us for the first ride on June 29th at 12:00pm CET – so we hope to see you there.

Ride times:

  • Wed June 29 – 12:00pm CEST / 6:00am EDT / 8:00am PDT / 8:00pm AEST
  • Thu Jul 07 – 10:00pm CEST) / 1:00pm PDT / 4:00pm EDT / *Fri Jul 08 – 6:00am AEST
  • Fri Jul 15 – 3:00pm CEST / 6:00am PDT / 9:00am EDT / 11:00pm AEST
  • Fri Jul 22 – 6:00am CEST / 2:00pm AEST / 9:00pm PDT

Register now: https://internationalcyclingexecutives.com/q4q/
About Team Qhubeka
Team Qhubeka is a movement from Africa, aiming to build an inclusive global community; united by the common purpose of changing lives with bicycles.Founded in 2007, Team Qhubeka became the first-ever African cycling team to gain a UCI WorldTour license, in 2016.

We achieved our first major win in 2013 when Gerald Ciolek won Milan-San Remo, one of the five Monuments of cycling. We have competed in seven Tour de France’s and notched up 7 stage wins, with Mark Cavendish wearing the coveted Yellow Jersey at the 2016 Tour de France.

2022 saw us return to UCI Continental status as we took the next step in our journey that will see us rebuild, with the intention to return to highest level and once again represent Africa at the Tour de France.

We are a multicultural, diverse team with bases in South Africa, the Netherlands and Italy. Our focus on developing African cycling has resulted in more than 55 riders from the African continent be given the opportunity to race on the world stage.

We race to help people to move forward with bicycles through our relationship with Qhubeka Charity. Through our work with Qhubeka, we have contributed to the distribution of over 35 000 bicycles in communities in South Africa.

About Qhubeka
Qhubeka is a charity that moves people forward with bicycles.  People earn bicycles through our programmes, improving their access to schools, clinics and jobs.

A bicycle is a tool that helps people to travel faster and further, and to carry more. In the face of extreme and persistent poverty, bicycles can change lives by helping to address socioeconomic challenges at the most basic level – helping people to get where they need to go.

All images attached to the press release can be used with the respective image credit in combination to this release.

RELATED ARTICLES

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Most Popular