Airtel FUFA Awards 2021: Onyango, Byekwaso Nominated In the Eight Categories Released.

Spread the love

The chairman awards’ Committee Mr Rogers Byamukama (R) with (L) Bob Kins, the events guru.Photo by Ronald Kabuubi/KMA Updates.

The Federation of Uganda Football association (FUFA) has today released Nominees for the Eight Categories ahead of the 2021 Airtel FUFA awards slated for 4th December at a press conference held at FUFA house in Mengo on Wednesday.

The chairman awards’ Committee Mr Rogers Byamukama (R) with (L) Bob Kins, the events guru.Photo by Ronald Kabuubi/KMA Updates.

Former Uganda Cranes captain and Mamelodi Sundowns goalkeeper Dennis Onyango, Uganda Hippos and KCCA FC coach Morley Byekwaso and KCCA FC midfielder Emmanuel Wasswa have been the highlights on the list.

Fans’ voting has started on the FUFA website.

Byekwaso, who was impressive with the Hippos in the AFCON, will tussle for the gong with Mbarara City FC coach Mbalangu who guided Arua Hills FC to the StarTimes Uganda Premier league and Express’ Wasswa Bbosa that won the league and CECAFA.

Coaches that have made the shortlist.


Onyango, will have to shield off Bayo who has been impressive with the Cranes scoring three world Cup qualifiers’ goals and his Isreal club Ashdod, Taddeo Lwanga and Joan Nabirye, if he is to walk away with the Fan’s gong.

Apart from the already known nominees of the Airtel FUFA Male player of the year and female player of the year, the coach of the year, Fufa Women coach of the year, Beach soccer, member associations’ award, Futsal Player of the year and Fans’ favorite Uganda foreign based player nominees have also been released today.

The list of five earlier shortlisted for the Male and female player of the year will be reduced to three on Wednesday and Monday respectively according to chairman Byamukama.

KCCA FC new signing Emmanuel Wasswa who also doubles as Sand Cranes player, has been given greenlight to tussle with Isma Kawawulo and Ambrose Kigozi for the beach soccer accolade.

Beach soccer players that fight for the Award.


The FUFA presidential award as always, is given out by the the president Moses Magogo to an individual, he thinks has worked towards development of the game now or in the previous times.

The best XI of the year, men and women will be selected by the different coaches.

The best squad of a particular year that is seleceted, will be available for the 4th December function where excellence in the game will be awarded.

The chairman awards’ committee Mr Rogers Byamukama, was delighted the function will be held this year which wasnot the case last year and applauded the Sponsors and members of the media.

Am excited the preparations are in high gear, we didnot get the opportunity to have them last year because of COVID, but we are ready this year. We want to thank our sponsors; Airtel, Nic holdings, Nile Special, Bidco, 102.1 Fm, Eco bank. We are here to unveil the nominees of the different categories and we shall have the event on 4th December 2021.

The winner of the Male and Female player of the year accolade will drive away brand new cars each courtsey of sponsors Airtel.

Each of the winner in the different categories will get his accolade, plus UGX 1m.

The different categories unveiled include;

Category 1: Airtel-FUFA Male Player of the year.

Kambale Erick Kenzo- Express Fc
Yunus Sentamu- Vipers SC
Shafick Kagimu- URA FC
Aziizi Kayondo- Vipers SC
Bobosi Byaruhanga – Vipers SC


Category 2: Airtel-FUFA Female Player of the year.

Daisy Nakaziro – Lady Doves
Fazila Ikwaput – Lady Doves
Fauzia Najjemba – Kampala Queens
Joan Naggayi- She Maroons
Magret Kunihira – Kawempe Muslims.


Category 3: Airtel-FUFA coach of the year.

Morley Byekwaso – Uganda Hippos
Wasswa Bbosa – Express FC
Hussein Mbalangu – Arua Hill FC


Category 4: Airtel-FUFA female Player of rhe year.

Fred Musiime- Lady Doves
Alex Sida – She Maroons
Khalifa Ayub – Uganda U20.


Category 5: Airtel-FUFA Beach Soccer Player of the year.

Emmanuel Wasswa- St Lawrence Ambrose Kigozi – Buganda Royal
Isma Kawawulo – MUBS


Category 6: Members associations’ award 2021

Express FC- ClubUganda Youth Football association- Special interest group
Kampala region FA – Regiom Football Association.


Category 7: Futsal player of the year 2021
Farouk Tumwesigye – Big talent
Travis Mutyaba – Synergy
Najiba Muwonge


Category 8: Fans’ Favourite Uganda foreign based player 2021.

Dennis Onyango – Mamelodi Sundowns
Fahad Bayo – FC Ashdod
Joan Nabirye – Vihiga QueensTaddeo Lwanga – Simba SC



Scroll to Top