Monday, January 25We Break the News

Two NRM MPs Defect to Bobi Wine’s NUP

Spread the love

Kampala, Uganda — Five Members of Parliament have officially joined Hon. Robert Kyagulanyi aka Bobi Wine’s National Unity Platform (NUP) party.

The MPs include Hon. John Baptist Nambeshe (NRM, Manjiya County), Hon. Patrick Nsamba Oshabe (NRM, Kassanda County North), Hon. Abdulatif Sebaggala (Ind, Kawempe Division North), Hon. David Kalwanga (Ind, Busujju County) and Hon. Francis Zaake (Ind, Mityana Municipality).

The legislators were unveiled on Monday, 03 August 2020 at the NUP party headquarters in Kamwokya.

Hon. Kyagulanyi (Bobi Wine) recently took over leadership of the NUP party as president, replacing Moses Nkonge Kibalama who said this was a merger between NUP and the People Power movement; at the party’s delegates’ conference on 14 July 2020.

The National Unity Reconciliation and Development Party was formed in December 2004.

“It has been certified with necessary Government requirements and we are up-to-date. There is nothing lacking in terms of accountability and we come here with clean hands,” Kibalama said during the party unveiling on 14 July 2020.

He also noted that the partnership between his party and People Power has been in the making since Hon. Kyagulanyi (Bobi Wine) won the Parliamentary elections for the Kyandondo East seat in 2017.

Hits: 26