Jose Chameleone quits DP, joins Bobi’s NUP

Jose Chameleone quits DP, joins Bobi’s NUP

Spread the love

The newly formed National Unity Platform (NUP) has registered its biggest achievement perhaps since it’s unveiling two weeks ago by admitting 11 MPs into its fold.

The new entrants comprise Democratic Party members of parliament  from Buganda region who call themselves DP block. The eleven also include some independent MPs such Lubaga North’s Moses Kasibante and Makindye’s Allan Ssewannyana.

Among other DP strongholds who joined NUP included Joseph Mayanja popularly known as Jose Chameleone, a renowned Ugandan artist.

Chameleone has been serving as DP national mobilizer for months now. He went on twitter and said, “As I joined the many oppressed Ugandans in the struggle to liberate our selves and our country I also celebrate my alliance with the NATIONAL UNITY PLATFORM with all comrades in the joint force to redeem our democracy and freedom come 2021. PEOPLE POWER, OUR POWER.”

Mukono Municipality MP, Betty Nambooze (left) holding a card of NUP with Kyadondo East MP Hon. Robert Kyagulanyi Sentamu, the President of NUP (right)

Speaking at the ceremony during which the MPs declared their new membership to NUP, Busiro East MP Medard Lubega SSeggona also the secretary of DP block said:

“We have built consensus among ourselves inside the DP block to actualize engagements under the people power/NUP family in a formal structured understanding that we will leave no player out.”

But the defection could be seen as a move by the members of DP block to circumvent opposition from NUP by blocking the new political outfit from fronting people to stand against them in their constituencies.

NUP leaders however said the decision by the MPs is a sign that leaders are listening to what the PEOPLE on ground are saying.

Kalungu West County MP, Joseph Gonzaga Ssewungu (left) displaying his NUP Membership card with Kyadondo East MP Hon. Robert Kyagulanyi Sentamu, the President of NUP (right)

“We are coming together from all formations to rebuild our country,” said NUP.

The declaration of allegiance for NUP by the 11 MPs means that the new party now has 16 MPs in Parliament effectively making NUP the third biggest party in Parliament after the ruling NRM and FDC.

Hits: 1522

Spread the love