Luka Modric awarded best player of the year

Spread the love


Best player of the year

Luka Modric has been awarded the Adidas Golden Ball award which honours the competition’s best player as voted for by members of the Technical Study Group of FIFA.


Best goal scorer

England’s Harry Kane finished as the leading goal scorer at the 2018 FIFA World Cup to win the Adidas Golden Boot.

France’s Antoine Griezmann and Belgium’s Romelu Lukaku finished second and third respectively.


Best goal Keeper

Belgium’s Thibaut Courtois won the Adidas Golden Glove as the tournament’s best goalkeeper.

Iker Casillas, Oliver Kahn and Gianluigi Buffon are amongst the previous winners

Until 2006, the award was called the Yashin Award in honour of the former Russian goalkeeper Lev Yashin.

FIFA young player’s award

France’s Kylian Mbappe won the FIFA Young Player award. The award was created to recognize the impact made by young footballers in the FIFA World Cup.

Fair play trophy

Spain won the Fair Play Trophy which goes to the team with the tournament’s best disciplinary record.

Colombia was the winner of the Fair

Play Trophy at the 2014 FIFA World Cup in Brazil.