Saturday, May 8We Break the News

City win Carabao Cup for fourth consecutive year

Spread the love

Aymeric Laporte was City’s hero, heading home from Kevin De Bruyne’s free-kick in the 82nd minute to give Pep Guardiola’s side a thoroughly deserved victory, which sees us move level with Liverpool as the most successful side the competition’s history.

City rose to the occasion at Wembley Stadium, where the most surprising aspect of the contest was that it took so long for a goal to come.

The defending champions were in total control from the first minute and but for some heroic last ditch defending, would have been out of sight at half time.

Eric Dier and Toby Alderweireld both made goal saving blocks to deny Raheem Sterling and Phil Foden, as Spurs were forced to withstand wave after wave of City attack in a particularly one-sided opening 45-minutes in which Zack Steffen didn’t have a save to make.

At the other, the impressive Riyad Mahrez twice went close with curling efforts, the first of which flashed inches wide of Hugo Lloris’ right-hand post, with the second flying just over the bar, whilst Sterling saw his chip bounce agonisingly wide after beating the Spurs’ keeper to Fernandinho’s slide rule through ball.

Spurs improved after the break and restricted City’s attacking opportunities, but Giovani Lo Celso’s effort, which was smartly tipped round the post by Steffen, was their only chance of note.

City continued to carve out opportunities, with Fernandinho heading straight at Lloris after a brilliant cross from De Bruyne, whilst Mahrez went close again after a brilliant jinking run finished with a fierce drive that just had too much on it.

Guardiola’s side’s patience was rewarded when Laporte towered above Sissoko to meet De Bruyne’s centre, to the delight of the 2000 City fans, who’s presence at Wembley made a special day even more memorable.

News about Man City v Spurs

Laporte hails ‘special’ Carabao Cup triumph

Aymeric Laporte couldn’t hide his delight after his late strike was enough to beat Tottenham 1-0 and secure a record-equalling fourth successive Carabao Cup triumph. Read more.

City win record-equalling eighth League Cup as Guardiola sets new milestone

Manchester City have won the League Cup for a record-equalling eighth time after a 1-0 victory over Tottenham at Wembley. Read more.

Gallery: Laporte heads City to Carabao Cup glory!

Aymeric Laporte’s late header propelled City to a 1-0 victory against Tottenham Hotspur at Wembley, securing the club’s record-equalling fourth successive League Cup title. View more.

Hits: 485