Thursday, February 25We Break the News

Citi Bank Uganda and Joint Medical Store contribute UGX 385 Million to fight COVID-19 in Uganda

Spread the love

(R-L) Uganda’s Prime Minister Rt Hon.Dr. Ruhakana Rugunda, the Political Overseer of the National Response Fund to Covid19 and Minister in charge of General Duties Hon.Mary Karooro Okurut, the Ceo of Citi Bank Uganda Ms. Sarah Arapta Wojega, the Chairman of the same Bank Mr. Kihuguru Geoffrey and the 2nd Deputy Premiere Alhaj Kirunda Kivejinja.Photo by Ronald Kabuubi/KMA Updates.

Citibank Uganda limited in conjunction with  Joint Medical Store have contributed a total of 385million Uganda Shillings to the National Response Fund to Covid19 to rehabilitate, equip Kajjansi healthy  Centre

The Chairman of Citi Bank Uganda Geoffrey Kihuguru (R-L) with the Ceo Ms. Sarah Arapta Wojega.Photo by Ronald Kabuubi/KMA Updates.

The Rt Hon. Prime Minister Dr. Ruhakana Rugunda and Hon. Karooro Okurut received 271 from Citi Bank Uganda and was Supplemented by 114M from JMS for a fully operating theatre at Kajjansi HC4.

Uganda’s Prime Minister Rt Hon.Dr. Ruhakana Rugunda receiving the donation from the Joint Medical store (114M).Photo by Ronald Kabuubi/KMA Updates.

“With the COVID-19 Pandemic, it is crucial that the already strengthened health system continues to successfully tackle other prevalent risks like eliminating Maternal mortalities. We are glad that the JMS Contribution will supplement CitiBank ‘s support to fully equip and functionalise  the operating theatre in the maternity unit of Kajjansi Health Centre 4 reaching over 4million mothers.” Dr. Bildard Baguma

Following the Covid19 pandemic that has caused fatal setbacks in implementation of government programs globally and nationally, and in line with the President’s initiative to fight and control the spread of the disease, while reducing its effects on vulnerable communities,

Uganda’s Prime Minister Rt Hon.Dr. Ruhakana Rugunda receiving the donation from the Joint Medical store (114M).

 These  donations were received by Uganda’s Prime Minister Rt Hon.Dr Ruhakana Rugunda in the Presence of  the Political Overseer of the National Response Fund to Covid  19 Hon. Mary Mary Karooro Okurut ,the Chairperson of the Fund Engineer Emmanuel Katongole ,Mrs. Kisaka Dorothy, the Administrator and Secretary of the  Fund.

  “Please receive our humble contribution  .We stand with our brothers and sisters in Uganda and especially those in cities whose food supplies have been adversely disrupted by the lockdown.

These donations  will be utilized by the Ministry of Health according to the National Response Fund to Covid 19  Chairman Engineer Emmanuel Katongole.

 On Friday 24th April, Uganda’s  President  Museveni  flagged off the first batch of 45 Motor Vehicles that had  been donated to the Ministry of Health.

The donations in kind including foodstuffs and other medical equipment are  always handed over to the National Taskforce for COVID-19.

 President Museveni, announced the establishment of the NATIONAL RESPONSE FUND TO COVID-19 that was   was formed on the 8th April,2020.

He also appointed a Committee to provide leadership to the COVID-19 Fund. The members of the Committee are: –

  1. Hon. Mary Karooro-Okurut, Minister of General Duties, OPM, Political oversight
  2. Mr. Emmanuel Katongole, CEO, Cipla Chemicals – Chairperson
  3. Mr. Robert Kabushenga, CEO, New Vision Group, Member
  4. Mr. Apollo Makubuya, Distinguished Lawyer, MMAKs Advocates, Member
  5. Mr. Francis Kamulegeya, CEO, PricewaterhouseCoopers, Member
  6. Mr. Kishor Jobanputra, CEO, Picfare Industries, Member
  7. Mr. Patrick Mweheire, Regional CEO, Standard Bank Group, Member
  8. Mr. Bwoch Gustavas, Chairman Centenary Bank, Member
  9. Bishop Joshua Lwere, Member Council of Presidents, IRCU, Member
  10. Mr. Aga Sekalala (Jr), CEO, Ugachick, Member
  11. Dr. Ian Clarke, CEO, International Hospital Kampala, Member
  12. Dr. Francis Omaswa, Former Director General of Health Services, Member
  13. Mr. Keith Muhakanizi, Permanent Secretary, Secretary to the Treasury, Member
  14. Dr. Diana Atwine, Permanent Secretary, Ministry of Health, Member
  15. Mrs. Dorothy Kisaka – Secretary/Covid-19 Fund Administrator
  16. The mandate of the Committee is to take responsibility for mobilizing resources for the fight against the pandemic, COVID -19 and enable provision of relief to vulnerable persons

The President  recently  donated 1.4M, as part of his monthly salary to the Covid-19 Fund. He pledged that this deduction will be donated every month till the pandemic of Covid-19 is eliminated. This took place on 30th April and the cash donation was brought in person by the First lady and Minister of Education, Janet Kataaha Museveni to the Covid-19 Fund Committee at the Office of the Prime Minister.

  1. Cabinet Ministers of the Government of Uganda
  2. Members of Parliament
  3. Members of the Judiciary
  4. Permanent Secretaries
  5. Undersecretaries
  6. Directors, Commissioners and all Senior Civil servants
  7. All leaders in the local Government structures
  8. Mrs Dorothy Kisaka: She appealed to the wellwishers to pay their money to the banks and bring pay slips to the Fund.
  9. Bank Name:Stanbic Bank,Garden City
  10. Account Name:National Response Fund to Covid19
  11. Account Number:Shillings:9030017338551
  12. USD:9030017342974
  13. Info@Tel +256-776-000-108,+256793942474

Hits: 21