Friday, December 9, 2022
HomeSportsLocal SportsMTN sponsored Bunyoro kingdom bicycle race excites Masindi

MTN sponsored Bunyoro kingdom bicycle race excites Masindi


Featured Photo:Hon.Byakutaaga hands over a cash prize to one of the winners

One of the female participants

There was excitement in Masindi district last Friday as residents enjoyed the Bunyoro Kitara kingdom MTN sponsored bicycle cycle racing competition.


Hundreds of people gathered on various roads to watch the bicycle cyclists who were participating in the last competition ahead of the finals that will bring all the past winners together at a soon to be communicated date and venue.

The Prime Minister of Bunyoro Kitara Kingdom Owek. Andrew Byakutaga Ateenyi presided over the colorful ceremony.

Byakutaga appreciated MTN for the good partnership with the kingdom.

“As a kingdom we are happy that MTN is always with us and it has always supported us we are very proud,” Byakutaga said.

Some of the cyclists and the officials

The competition attracted cyclists from Buruli county, Masindi municipality and Bujenje county.

The cyclists who were flagged off at Masindi Booma playground rode via Hoima Road, Katasenywa, before turning left to Kalyango and continued riding through the areas of Kakwese, Biizi Kituumu and Kamurasi Primary school before joining Kampala Road at Kirasa and ended at Masindi Booma playground.

Police and other security agencies ensured that law, order and safety prevailed during and after the competition.

The men raced for 30 kilometers while ladies raced around 10 kilometers. The winners in both categories walked away with cash prizes having secured their slots in the upcoming final race that will conclude the first ever edition of the Bunyoro Kitara bicycle races.

winners in the men’s category

  1. Kanabulya Dauson (500K)
  2. Turyasiima Innocent (400K)
  3. Mugisa Benard (300K)
  4. Byamukana Joseph (200K)
  5. Kato Yohana (100K)

winners in the Women’s category

  1. Ayebale Enid (250K)
  2. Kunihira Immaculate (200K)
  3. Kusiima Amina (150K)
  4. Nyakabito Rehema (100K)
  5. Abitegeka Sharon (50K)


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Advertisment -

Most Popular