Uganda’s National team head Coach Summons squad ahead of Malawi friendly

Spread the love

Kampala, Uganda:

Uganda national team head coach Sebastien Desabre has summoned squad ahead of the preparation for the upcoming international friendly against Malawi on 27th March at Mandela National Stadium in Kampala.

The coach revealed the team of 23 players during the weekly press conference that took place at Uganda’s Football Federation’s headquarters on Wednesday morning.

The squad has four local based players, Timothy Awany(KCCA FC), Milton Karisa (Vipers SC) Nico Wakiro Wadada(Vipers SC), and Abraham Ndugwa(Masavu FC)

Uganda Cranes in a team Photo before taking on Ghana’s black Stars in their World Cup qualifiers Soccer match 7th Oct,2017 that ended 0-0 at Mandela National Stadium in Kampala. (Photo by Ronald Kabuubi/Kmaupdates).

However, the squad has19 foreign based players, with 14 players within Africa while the rest feature for clubs around the in Europe and Asia.

“I have not neglected the local based players because I have watched the league and I’m impressed with the level of competition. I saw many during the CHAN tournament in Morocco so I wanted to use these upcoming friendlies to look at the foreign based players” said Desabre..

“I have been in contact with most of them (players) on phone and we discussed a lot but I believe the two games will help us to make a good evaluation” he added.

The head coach also revealed his new technical bench with former Cranes goalkeeper Sadiq Wassa as the goalkeeping coach taking the task in the absence of Fred Kajjoba away in USA.

Fitness coach D’Antonio Gerome who will be available for only up to the end of the two games and physiotherapist Ivan Ssewanyana.

The players are expected to enter camp on 19th March with training commencing the following day.

Goalkeepers: Dennis Onyango Mamelodi Sundowns, South Africa, Salim Jamal (El Meriekh, Sudan), Robert Odongkara (St George, Ethiopia).

Defenders: Dennis Iguma (Al Nabi Shayth-Lebanon), Nico Wakiro Wadada (Vipers SC, Uganda), Isaac Isinde Not attached), Brevis Mugabi Yeovil Town, England) Murushid Jjuko (Simba, Tanzania), Timothy Awany (KCCA FC, Uganda), Godfrey Walusimbi (Gor Mahia-Kenya), Alex Kakuba (Feirense-Portugal).

Midfielders: Joseph Ochaya (Lusaka Dynamos, Zambia),Farouk Miya Sebai FK, Azerbaijan) , Hassan Wasswa (El Geish, Egypt), Khalid Aucho (East Bengal, India), Geoffrey Kizito Baba (Than Quang Ninh-Vietnam), Milton Karisa (Vipers SC, Uganda), William Luwagga Kizito (CSMA Iasi, Romania), Abraham Ndugwa (Masavu FC, Uganda)

Forwards: Emmanuel Okwi (Simba, Tanzania),Yunus Ssentamu (FK Tirana), Edrisa Lubega (Floridsdorfer AC, Austria),Hood Kaweesa (Buildcon FC, Zambia).