IEBC officially declares Uhuru Kenyatta president of Kenya.

Spread the love

Nairobi, Kenya.

President Uhuru Kenyatta has won Kenya’s rerun vote that took place on Thursday 26th October after an official announcement by the National Electoral Commission.

According to the IEBC chair Wafula Chebukati, Uhuru tallied 7,483,895 (98.2%) of the votes cast in the October 26 election, according to results from 265 out of 290 constituencies, while Raila Odinga, the National Super Alliance (NASA) opposition leader collected  73,228 (0.9%), Ekuru 21,333. (0.28%), Dida. 14,107. (0.19%), Kaluyu. 8,261. (0.11%), Mwaura. 6,007 (0.08%), Nyagah. 5,554. (0.07%),Jirongo. 3,832. (0.05%).


Independent Electoral and Boundaries Commission chief Wafula Chebukati declares Uhuru the president of Kenya for another term.Photo by Ronald Kabuubi/Kmaupdates.

About 38.84 percent of the registered voters turned up to cast their ballot – that is 7.6 million of the 19.6 million registered voters.

In the said opposition Counties, Kisumu, Siaya, Homa Bay and Migor, voting was not held.

“Poll was free, fair and credible” “my wish is that this is the last election in Kenya that we have to face these recurring problems.” Wafula Chebukati said.

A minute of silence was observed in honor of the people who died during the course of the repeat election.

A report from Amnesty International on Monday described the security forces’ attempt to intimidate and punish members of the opposition, particularly in the western city of Kisumu, an Odinga stronghold.

Uhuru Kenyatta has been declared Kenya’s next President amidst tension in the East African nation.Photo by Ronald Kabuubi/Kmaupdates.

On Monday, the NASA and opposition leader Raila Odinga said he wanted the electoral commission to carry out a credible election in 90 days.

The only apparent credible way that could happen is, if the results of the rerun vote are invalidated again by the Supreme Court.

Despite the fact that such a case would be brought to court, another cancellation would extend Kenya’s period of political paralysis.


VALID VOTES: 7,616,217


TURNOUT: 42.36%